Peru travel guide


Peru Travel Guide

Peru History

Some Cultures in Peru: Nazca, Wari, Mochica, Caral, Chimu, Tiahuanaco, Chavin, Paracas. They were succeeded by powerful city-states, such as Sipan, Cajamarca, and Chancay, and two empires: Chachapoyas and Chimor. Chimor, some of Chachapoyas, and many city-states were eventually conquered by the Inca.

The Incas in (1438-1572) created the greatest empire of pre-Columbian America. It originated from a tribe from Cuzco, which became the capital. The empire was divided into four provinces: Collasuyo, Contisuyo, Chinchasuyo and Antisuyo. Because it was quite large, it had an impressive system of roads to all points of the empire, called the Inca Trail, and chasquis, message carriers relayed information from anywhere in the empire to Cuzco. Its economy was based on the collective earth property.

When the Spanish arrived in 1531 Peru territory was the nucleus of the highly developed Inca civilization. Centered at Cuzco the Inca Empire extended over a vast region from northern Ecuador to central Chile. In search of Inca wealth the Spanish explorer Francisco Pizarro who arrived in the territory after the Incas had fought a debilitating civil war conquered the weakened people. The Spanish had captured the Incan capital at Cuzco by 1533 and consolidated their control by 1542. Gold and silver from the Andes enriched the conquerors and Peru became the principal source of Spanish wealth and power in South America.

Peru independence

Peru independence movement was led by Jose de San Martin and Simon Bolivar. San Martin proclaimed Peruvian independence on July 28 1821. Emancipation was completed in December 1824 when General Antonio Jose de Sucre defeated the Spanish troops at Ayacucho ending Spanish rule in South America.

About us | Contact us | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy | Legal Terms

© 2005 - 2020 - All Rights Reserved